$2 Portrait Project

I came across Thomas Hawk’s portrait project the other day and I can’t stop going through the pictures and reading the stories that go along with each face.

From Thomas’s Website :

“From this week going forward…I am going to offer $2 to anyone who asks me for money in exchange for their portrait. While I’m taking their portrait I’m going to ask their name and try to learn a little bit about them. I plan on doing this for the rest of my life — assuming that I can afford to.

In part I’m undertaking this project because I realize that I’ve been avoiding people asking me for money. My biggest motivation behind this project however is simply that I think human interaction is a good thing. I’m not doing this to exploit homeless people or show how hard and bad life can be. I’m doing this because I want to celebrate other human beings as human beings and I think that this commercial transaction gives us an opportunity to engage and interact on a more human level… and I also think that I can take a pretty decent portrait.”

Check out his Flickr (starts at my favourite one) to see more $2 Portraits and stories

http://www.flickr.com/photos/thomashawk/5806083769/in/pool-895725@N22/

About kittenswearingmittens

20 something student who loves kittens, mittens and kittens wearing mittens
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

